My journey to shoot for the moon.

September 12, 2011

This is not the post that I thought I would be sharing this morning.  However, when I was taking Kirby out, I saw the moon and the American Flag (it was just after 6 am here).  It was beautiful.  I went back in and got my camera.  Here is what I saw –

My pictures don’t do it justice, but it gives you an idea.

While waiting on Kirby, before I got my camera, I was thinking.  I love the early morning time to think, when it is quiet and somewhat still.  But I was thinking about resilience.  About going on when your world is crashing around you.  And from that thought, I remembered a class I took in April (7 Habits for Highly Effective People) and one man who Stephen R. Covey wrote about:  Viktor E. Frankl.

For those of you who don’t know who Viktor E. Frankl is (and I didn’t know before I went to the class), he was a survivor of the Holocaust. He was a neurologist and psychiatrist prior to being sent to the concentration camps.  His parents and his wife died at the camps and his only surviving relative was his sister (who had emigrated to Australia).  His experiences and observations, changed after his experiences, impacted the field of psychology.

It is he, who I thought of this morning, the day after the 10 year Anniversary of 9/11.  How one man, who suffered at the concentration camps, went on and lived an amazing life; and how we, as individuals and a nation, must continue to find meaning in our own lives.  How we must persist in creating a world that is worth living in.  And how many give their lives in the creation of that world.

For the meaning of life differs from man to man, from day to day and from hour to hour. What matters, therefore, is not the meaning of life in general but rather the specific meaning of a person’s life at a given moment.
Viktor E. Frankl

Leave a comment