My journey to shoot for the moon.

When I got up this morning, I noticed that my hair is grayer than it has been.  I color my hair.  I have for years, as I have never really liked the color I was born with.  I’ve been going grey for a while, but it has been mostly in the front.  Today I noticed that the grey is spreading.  I guess it is time to color it again.

All of this new gray got me thinking:  I earned it.  In October I will turn 41 and I’ve accomplished a lot in that time.  I’m definitely older, but am I wiser?  Sometimes I’m not sure.

I’ve learned that my mom and dad do really know a lot and that I should listen to them.  But I’ve learned that I have to make my own decisions and my instincts are usually right.  No matter what Mom and Dad say.  But their ideas, suggestions and opinions are worth listening to, even if I don’t follow their suggestions.

I’ve learned that I have a lot to offer, professionally.  I may be unemployed, but I have a great deal of knowledge and experience in the field of Special Education.  When I am given the chance, my talents will speak for themselves.  Until then, I need to keep a positive attitude.

I learned that I feel better when my living space is clean and organized.

I’ve discovered that I get very cranky when the sun doesn’t shine for a few days in a row.  I am much happier in Colorado than I ever as in Illinois.

I can do whatever I want to do.  I may need to work at it, but if I want to do it, I will do it.

Taking a multi-vitamin is a good idea.  It is even better to get my nutrients from food, but some days . . .Chocolate, it’s what’s for dinner (and lunch and breakfast).

Speaking of breakfast, having cake for breakfast once in a while isn’t going to hurt.  As Bill Cosby said, “And I said… and someone in my brain looked under chocolate cake and saw the ingredients: eggs! Eggs are in chocolate cake! And milk! Oh goody! And wheat! That’s nutrition! ”  If it is good enough for Bill Cosby’s children, it is good enough for me.

I know that someday my boys will understand why I made them go to Kid’s Alive (a support group for kids who have a parent with cancer) even though they don’t want to go.

I can only accomplish so much in a day.  There is no reason to beat myself up if I don’t get everything done because there is always tomorrow.

I believe that sometimes you just have to snuggle with the dog and say “to heck” with everything else.

I’ve learned that I cannot change someone else.  I can only change my actions and response.

I believe that spending time with someone you care about is the best gift you can give them, especially when you give them your undivided attention.

I know that you should say “I love you” before someone leaves, if you love them, because you may never have another chance.

I believe that frowning causes wrinkles.  Of course, if you laugh a lot you’ll have laugh lines, but I’d rather have laugh lines than wrinkles.

Comments on: "Older and Wiser. Maybe or Maybe Not." (4)

  1. You also have a lot to offer on a personal level, not only professionally. Just thought I’d add that in there, ya know! Love You!

    Like

  2. Absolutely love this one Robin. All of us can relate to something in this post.

    Your words of wisdom touched me in the heart.

    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

Leave a Reply

