My journey to shoot for the moon.

By the time you are reading this post, I’ll be getting ready for my first day of school.  However, I am writing this the day before the first day of school…I have waited and waited for this day.  I have studied, interviewed, substituted, and planned for this day.  I have worked hard and I am ready.  But, I am oh so nervous!  Our first day isn’t a teaching day.  We have only freshmen and they will be doing activities with upperclassmen and then they will have a “mock” schedule where their classes last for 10 minutes.  Tuesday will be the first real day.

My classroom is set.  It looks great (and I forgot to take pictures, so I will try to remember to do that).  I am proud of what I’ve accomplished.  I have the projector reserved for Tuesday and Wednesday and will be going over learning styles and goal setting.  Thursday and Friday we will discuss “Surviving English Strategies with Mrs. James” (I am teaching English Strategies I and II).  And the kids will start working on their “playbooks.”  I hope that these activities will help them define what they want to accomplish this year and going forward.  Then we will move on to a writing assessment.

I hope to teach writing until the end of October/beginning of November.  Then we will move on to novels.  I’ve changed my plan for teaching and I’ll write about it when I have time.  But I expect that the next couple of weeks will be quite busy – so don’t worry if you don’t hear from me!

Leave a Reply

