My journey to shoot for the moon.

Home Alone – Part 1

At the end of July, Chris and the boys took a trip to Chicago.  They left late Wednesday afternoon and returned on Monday morning.  I stayed home alone.  I had not been home alone for more than a day since David was born in 1998.  So this was a new experience for me.  I decided that I would keep a diary of the events while the guys were gone.Day 1 – Wednesday

Dear Diary –

I dropped the guys off at the airport.  Told Michael to be good and told David I knew he would be good.  Gave Chris a hug and kiss, hugged the boys and drove off.  On the way home from the airport, I stopped at a family owned Dollar Store and bought a few cute things (they have cute jewelry).  Then I headed over to Mark Pi’s to get Chinese food for dinner.  I decided that I would order both the Beef Lo Mein and Sweet and Sour Chicken.  This way I would have leftovers.

Got home and found that the dogs didn’t have any food, so I fed them.  Then surfed the internet and ate dinner.  The painters are in the hallway and Sugar is going crazy.  Of course all of her barking and running around is driving me crazy.  I’ve locked the door (just in case) and am trying to ignore Sugar which is not as easy as it sounds!

Did some blogging and decided that I was going to take a bath and get into bed with some of the reading I need to get done for school.  I don’t really care that it isn’t even 6 pm yet…

I did read for a bit.  Then I messed with my iPod for almost 2 hours.  I know it was a “waste” of time, but my new hearing aids let me connect my iPod and then I can listen to music through my hearing aids.  It really sounds good, so I want my iPod to have some new music and playlists.

Then I had my fortune cookie…REALLY!?!  I know it is a bad picture, but I didn’t think anyone would believe me unless I took a picture of it.  “A long term goal will soon be achieved.” Huh!  I guess I better get to work!

Sugar has settled down and is sleeping in Chris’ spot on the bed.  I’m not sure that she figured out that the guys were gone, but she knew it was something she wasn’t going to like when they took the suitcases out to the car.  Hopefully we’ll have a chance to really bond without her Daddy here…

I stayed up until 11 pm reading The Crucible by Arthur Miller.  I hadn’t read it before, as I’m finding is the case with many of the books that I should be considering to teach this year.  I’m about 1/2 way through it and hope to finish it today or tomorrow.

Then I turned off the lights…and couldn’t sleep.  I tossed and turned and never really fell asleep.

 

 

Day 2 – Thursday

At 7:30 am I got out of bed to face the day.  I touched up my hair color and got dressed.  Did a bit of writing and then headed out to run some errands.

Went to Sally’s Beauty Supply to pick up a few things – then looked around at Big Lots and Hobby Lobby.  Then I headed over the the library, where I got 4 books for my classroom (for $1).  After that I ran to the mall and did a lot of window shopping, but I did find a skirt and 2 shirts on clearance.  I also bought a pair of shoes to wear at work.  Then I went back to Parker and met my friend for lunch (Thanks AR!).  We ate and visited for almost 4 hours.  It was really nice.

However, on our way out of the restaurant we noticed that there was a dog left in a car across the street.  It was much too hot to leave a dog in a car and so my friend called the police.  It took almost 20 minutes for them to show up (but it was animal control that came, not a “regular” police car).

Got home around 5 pm and took the dogs out and tried on my new clothes.  I did some internet surfing and reading up on things I missed during the day.  Then I did a bit of writing.  The boys called and I got to speak to them (and Chris) – they went to Six Flags Great America in Gurnee, Illinois today and had a great time.  I am so glad that they got to go with Chris!  Tomorrow they are headed to the County Fair with Grandma Kay while Chris goes into his old office to visit.  They sounded tired, but good.

Tonight I need to decide what I’m going to have for dinner – leftover Stromboli (from lunch) or leftover Beef Lo Mein and Sweet and Sour Chicken.   I think that I’m going to get my book and head out on the patio and read for a bit.

Didn’t sit on the patio.  Had Chinese and watched a bit of TV.  Then got into bed and read more…

Day 3 – Friday

2:30 am

Dear Diary –

Who gets up at 2:30?  Apparently I do.  Why?  No specific reason.  Didn’t fall back to sleep until after 4 am.

Got out of bed at 7:30 am.  So much for sleeping while the guys are gone.  Started some laundry, did the dishes and got a few things organized for school and scheduled another training.  Also, talked with my mom (if you haven’t figured it out, it is an almost daily occurrence).

Drinking coffee and writing.  I could get used to this…

Then I cleaned the carpet and read the rest of The Crucible (Look for a book review on it soon!).  Read blogs and the news on the internet.  Worked on the grocery list.

Made dinner – steak kabobs, leftover fried rice and grilled pineapple with cinnamon.  Yum!

Watched the Opening Ceremonies of the Olympics – still not sure what I think of the whole display…

Didn’t see Sir Paul McCartney because I couldn’t keep my eyes open any longer.  But I did tape it to watch later.

 

Comments on: "Home Alone – Part 1" (1)

  1. Maybe you couldn’t sleep without the menfolk being home. Yum, I’m gettin’ hungry just lookin’ at the picture.
    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

Leave a Reply

