My journey to shoot for the moon.

Blintzes

When the boys were in North Carolina, my parents introduced them to Cheese and Cherry Blintzes.  The boys had never had blintzes before, mostly because buying them from the freezer section is expensive.Turns out that the boys LOVED the blintzes.  David liked the cheese and Michael liked the cherry (of course).  So, I set out to figure out how to make blintzes.  The first thing I found was that the recipes for cherry blintzes used cherry jam.  Cherry Jam is EXPENSIVE.  The jars in the grocery store (if you can find them) are $3+.  And I knew that it would take more than one jar to make the blintzes.

So, I went looking for a recipe to make cherry jam.  Cherries have been on sale for $1.49/lb.  I found a great recipe for cherry preserves and blogged about my experiences (Making Cherry Preserves).

The next thing I went looking for was Farmer’s Cheese.  Sprouts carries it but didn’t have any in stock.  I wasn’t going to go running around to try to find it, so I went looking for a substitution.  Cream cheese and cottage cheese.  Perfect.

Once the cherry preserves were made I worked on the cheese.

  I took on large container of cottage cheese and emptied it into a strainer sitting on another bowl (to catch the drainage).  I let it sit (in the refrigerator) for several hours.  Then I mixed the drained cottage cheese with one package of cream cheese that I had let come to room temperature (so it was soft).

The resulting mixture was somewhat chunky.Since I wanted a smoother consistency, I used my electric mixer’s whisk and beat until it was smooth.  I added about 1 TBSP of sugar while beating.

The result was much better.

Michael and I then began to make the blintzes.

Blintzes

  • 1-1/2 cups 2% milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Basically you mix all ingredients then coat a small pan with non-stick spray (we used butter spray).  Add just enough batter to cover the bottom of the pan and move the pan around until the batter is coating the bottom of the pan.

When it starts to look “dry” (kind of like a pancake), flip it over.  Michael did this by turning the pan upside down over a plate and then sliding the wrapper back into the pan.  I found it was easier to use a spatula and just turn it over.

Several wrappers on a plate

After a quick minute, remove the wrapper from the pan onto a plate.

We let them cool a bit so they were easier to work with.  We then filled them with the cheese mixture (enough to cover the center of the wrapper and then some) or the cherry preserves.  Then we folded the bottom up and rolled the wrapper (like making enchiladas).

Michael rolling a wrapper.

Finally, we placed all the blintzes on cookie sheets and covered them with foil.  The fruit blintzes tends to run, so I put the cheese on one cookie sheet and the cherry on another.

° Cheese Blintzes before going in the oven.

Bake at 350° for 10-15 minutes (or until hot).  Remove from oven.  Serve with sour cream if desired.

Cherry Blintzes before going in the oven.

Of course, I was so anxious to eat them that I forgot to take pictures of the finished product!  We did double batch them, so we could freeze some for another time.  I think that this is the way to go.  They are somewhat time intensive (making the wrappers), but well worth it.   I know it cost less than $3 per batch.  Additionally, we had leftovers.  Not bad for a couple of hours of work.   And I got to spend some quality time with Michael.

Comments on: "Blintzes" (1)

  1. Omg, your blintzes look mouth-watering, Robin. What a great way to spend time with your boys.
    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

Leave a Reply

