My journey to shoot for the moon.

Stop Sugar. STOP!

Sugar is now 4.  But she is still a puppy and I expect she will always be.  Because of her treatment before we got her, she is timid and aggressive.  She gets scared of the silliest things (like if she is on the couch and we sit by her, she’ll often run away).  Still, she is a sweet, loving dog.She adores kids.  Younger kids that is.  When she is on our patio and the kids come by to see her, she wags her tail so hard I’m surprised she can stand up.  She barks at David’s friends now (they are, I guess, too big) and adults.  Eventually, she will greet you but it has to be on her terms.

Sugar waits for the boys when they aren’t home, especially David.  David has the job of taking Sugar out when she needs to go.  When I tell her to “go get David” she runs back and forth to his room until he follows her out.  Then she jumps (straight up) and jumps until he gets her leash.  It is very funny.

Sugar also loves to ride in the car.  After having Alex who got carsick, this is quite a change.  Sometimes I would bring Sugar to pick Michael up from school.  I often bring her when I am picking David up from an evening activity.  Recently he was in a play at Mainstreet Center (that is for another post) and needed to be picked up Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday at 8:30 pm.  I took Sugar with me to get him on Wednesday.

She is so funny when she sees David because she is beside herself with happiness.

Kirby wanted to go for a ride, so I told her I’d bring her on Thursday.  However, Chris picked David up that night.

Friday night I got ready to get David and put Kirby on her leash.  Sugar REALLY wanted to go.  I had my purse on my shoulder, keys and phone in hand and Kirby’s leash and opened the door.  Sugar took off out the door.

Sugar is part greyhound.  She is fast.  I was wearing flip-flops and took off after her with Kirby.  I am sure that we made quite a picture.  Chris came running too.  Michael, who was in his room and would be the fastest of all of us, didn’t hear a thing.

After running through the apartment complex calling Sugar, she finally found another dog on a patio (on the ground floor).  She was visiting with that dog and I was able to catch up to her.  Then I had to figure out how to get her back home (with Kirby and my purse).  I held onto both dogs’ collars and took Kirby’s leash off.  I put it on Sugar.  Then I picked Kirby up to carry her home.

Chris found us and took Sugar.  I still had to walk all the way home carrying Kirby (she may be small, but she got darn heavy especially since she doesn’t particularly like being carried).  When we got home, I took Kirby’s leash and went to get David (and I was late).

Sugar seemed to know she was on my list because this time she didn’t even try to go.  It is a good thing.  I don’t think I could have handled another night run in my flip-flops!

You can read more about Sugar and Kirby in some of my previous posts.

Sugar and an Anniversary

French Fries and Sugar – Part 1 and Part 2

Rabbits and Squirrels

How much is that doggie in the window?

How we added Kirby to our family

Comments on: "Stop Sugar. STOP!" (2)

  1. This is a precious story, Robin, made me laugh. Sugar seems like a great addition to the family; hopefully we will read more enjoyable tales.
    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

    • I’m glad that I was able to make you laugh! Sugar is a nut – sometimes she is so confident and other times she is a mess (she was probably abused before we adopted her). And yes, I am sure I will write more about her!

      Like

Leave a Reply

