My journey to shoot for the moon.

Futon Fallacy

The futon arrived while I was not at home.  David accepted the delivery and it was waiting for me when I got back from wherever I was.  I was excited to get it open and set up in the boys’ room.  The delivery was for “inside the door,” so it was sitting in the middle of the living room.  David and I got the box opened and moved the futon to his room.   The only assembly we had to do was to screw on the legs.  We could handle this.  Right?   Wrong.

The futon came with four legs, no problem.

One, two

But the frame only had three holes to screw in the legs.

Really?  I’m not making this up!  I’ve got pictures to prove it!

Three, four? Where’s four???

Look closely at the picture.  Here, I’ll help.

See? No hole.

The packing slip inside the box told us not to return the item to the store.  We were to call the manufacturer customer service with any problems.  So, we did.

They told me that I needed to return it to the store.

Ok.  But I had it delivered and it wouldn’t fit in my van. 

Sorry, they couldn’t help me.

So, I called the store.  They wanted me to return it to the store.

Ok.  But I had it delivered and it wouldn’t fit in my van.

So, they would arrange a pick-up.  Once they had the item they would issue a refund and I could re-order it.

Really?  I had to wait until they picked up the faulty futon and then they would issue a credit.  Then I could re-order the item.  Unless I wanted to front the money and re-order the item before the credit was issued.

We can’t just exchange the item.

Of course you can’t.  Let me speak to a manager.

We need you to return the item to the store.

Ok.  But I had it delivered and it wouldn’t fit in my van.

So, they would arrange a pick-up.  Once they had the item they would issue a refund and I could re-order it.

(Does this sound familiar to you?  It did to me.)

Ok.  But it wasn’t that I didn’t like the item.  I wanted the item, but the one I got was defective.  What I wanted was a replacement item.  I wanted it ordered today.  I wanted the pick up of the defective item on the same day as the delivery of the new item.  And I wanted a discount for having to deal with all of this garbage.

It took going around 2 more times for them to agree.  The kicker is that David was on the phone “translating” because even though I told them I was hearing impaired and asked them to speak into their microphones, to speak louder and a bit slower, they were unable or unwilling to do so.  David had difficulties understanding and kept saying, “What?”

It was a ridiculous situation.  It took 4 weeks from the time I ordered it for it to be delivered.  While we were waiting for the new futon, the box the futon came in sat on the floor in our living room (we didn’t have anywhere else to put it) because we were told to save it.

However, we decided that we would use the futon without the legs until the replacement arrived.  So it was sitting on the floor in the boys’ room.

It was quite comfortable even if it was a little close to the ground.  And it fit perfectly in the space.  Now to wait for the replacement.

Michael on the faulty futon.

Comments on: "Futon Fallacy" (2)

  1. Jessica said:

    I often go back and forth between wanting brand new furniture and scoring a deal on used furniture on craigslist… Interesting how my best experiences have been when I paid absolutely nothing for a desk, but when you pay full price for something you run into headaches. I applaud your persistence and hope you get everything correctly before school starts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

