My journey to shoot for the moon.

The cherry preserves were so good that I decided I really needed to make a second batch while cherries were on sale ($1.49/lb).

Chris had ordered a cherry pitter for me and I bought the second batch of cherries after it arrived.  The cherry pitter made the work go MUCH faster and was well worth the $12.99 we spent (from Amazon.com – the OXO Good Grips Cherry Pitter).  I pitted about 13 lbs. of cherries in 45 minutes.  Now, it was a bit messy.  There was cherry juice on the table even though I put a towel down under the area I was working on, and my hands were still stained.

In all, I had 13 cups of cherries before I added the sugar.  I didn’t measure the final product, but we have lots of cherry preserves.  We gave some to the boys’ “adopted” grandparents who live in our complex (and they are going to come back for a “refill” – Grandpa already came by to tell me they loved them) and a jar to one of Michael’s friend’s families (who took him to the Rockies game because they had an extra ticket).

I’ve been using the cherry preserves to mix in my homemade yogurt and on my toast.  We also plan to make crepes and I figure that the cherry preserves will make a good filling for the dessert ones (especially if we make some chocolate ones).

The cherry pits are in the freezer waiting to see how the cherry vinegar turns out.  If it is good, I’ll make some more.  If not, no harm done.

I’m deciding if I should do some experimenting with making some more preserves of other kinds.  But that is a consideration for another day, as my summer is starting to wind down and I still have a number of projects to finish.

Let me know if you give this recipe a try and how it turns out!

Comments on: "Second Batch – Making Cherry Preserves" (2)

  1. You’re making a lot folks happy with your cherry goodies, Robin. Hope all is well on the home front.
    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

    • Maxi – We are stable. Stable is good. Thank you for asking.

      And I love sharing goodies! I love to cook (and bake) but really shouldn’t eat all that I make…

      Like

Leave a Reply

