My journey to shoot for the moon.

I have boys and somehow I ended up on the American Girl mailing list.  I’ve always thought that it was fun to look at the dolls in the pictures.  It was astounding to me the cost of the stuff, but I guess Chris and I shell out hundreds of dollars for electronics for the boys.  Anyway, while my sister-in-law has taken my nieces to the American Girl store in Chicago (and had tea), I didn’t think I would ever go into one.  But I did.One of my friends called me to see if I wanted to go to the mall with her.  She wanted to go to Bath & Body Works (they were having a huge sale for those of you who LOVE their stuff – and you can get cash back from shopathome.com if you were to order online – there is a link on the right side of my page).  I had ordered stuff online so I could get the cash back, but figured it would be fun to get out and be able to smell some of the stuff.

So off we went.  Honestly, I don’t remember the last time I went to the mall with a friend.  I don’t really go to the mall anymore.  The last time I went was with the boys and I think it was last summer.  We went to the Crocs Store (also on shopathome.com) and the Lego Store.  That was it.  We went for a specific purpose (to get Crocs) and then we left.  So I wouldn’t count it as a trip to the mall…

My friend needed to get some body wash and lotion that was on sale (75% off) and being discontinued.  It is her favorite and she bought a lot; at $3 each who wouldn’t.  I found a few things to buy.  Some body wash and lotion in a scent that I liked, some stress relief stuff for David and me, a bath puff, emery boards and I think that was it.  Our stuff was heavy, so we took it to the car and then went back in to wander the mall.

Both of us bought a few more things (my friend more than me) and then we headed outside to an area of the mall I didn’t know was there.  It was a bunch of stores that were in a separate section and could only be accessed from outside the mall.  We looked in Coldwater Creek (just to see what they had) and then sat outside by a pond and talked.  It was a hot day, so after about 15 minutes we decided that we needed to go inside.  But…we were right by the American Girl store.  Neither one of us had been in one and my friend suggested it might be fun.

Picture by AR, since it looks like one of her friends

All I can say is WOW!!!  If you don’t have girls and have never been in the store you should check it out if you have a chance.  Now, I wouldn’t drive hours to reach one, but if it is there and you have time, it is well worth it.

The dolls are gorgeous!  Did you know that you could even have their hair done at the store (if you pay for it)?  Their hair feels real.  The clothes are amazing and the details are incredible.  I was quite impressed.

I don’t have any girls of my own to buy for (not that I can afford for them to play with a $100 doll).  Grandchildren are a LONG, LONG way off.  So, I’ve decided that I am going to get a doll for myself when I turn 50.  I’m going to get her cute clothes and some of the very cool accessories.

My grandmother was going to get me a doll to sit on my shelf for my 16th birthday.  She didn’t remember her promise to me (of course I remembered her promise) and I didn’t get my doll.  So, I’ll just buy one myself.  This one might be more fun, since I can dress her and do her hair…

Comments on: "American Girl Store, Colorado" (5)

  1. taurusmom18 said:

    I can’t wait until my daughter is old enough for one of these!

    I am passing the “Tell Me About Yourself” award to you!
    http://taurusmom18.wordpress.com/2012/06/21/the-tell-me-about-yourself-award/

    Like

    • Thanks for passing the award!

      As for American Girl Dolls…we watched a little one throw one major fit in the store. Obviously, she wasn’t old enough to have one, even though Mom and Dad thought so…

      Like

  2. Glad you had fun at the mall. Those dolls, wow, they look real. Too bad my granddaughter doesn’t bother with dolls.
    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

  3. Jessica said:

    I guess I know where I need to go and visit the next time I am downtown. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

