My journey to shoot for the moon.

Making Yogurt

A couple of weeks ago I was able to snag some milk that was close to the expiration date for cheap. I decided that I would try to make yogurt. Little did I know this was going to become a new obsession.It was so easy.  And the yogurt was, by far, the best yogurt that I have ever had.  I followed the directions posted at OurLifeSimplified.com and decided that I never needed to eat store-bought yogurt again.

Basically, this is what you do – put your milk in your crockpot.  The first time I used a 1/2 gallon of milk, the second I used a gallon.  Heat the milk to 180 degrees.  Then turn the crockpot off and allow the milk to cool to 115 degrees.  Once it has cooled, add 1 cup of yogurt with live active cultures for every 1/2 gallon of milk.  Allow the crockpot to slowly (very slowly) cool.  The first time I wrapped mine in a beach towel and left it on the counter.  The second, I just placed it in the oven.  After 8-12 hours you have yogurt.  Amazing!

My first batch. As you can see, the ladle stood up in the yogurt.

The second time I did it, I spent less than $3 on the entire batch.  And you end up with a TON of yogurt.

This time I put some yogurt aside to make yogurt cheese.  This is one of my favorite indulgences.  You line a strainer with white paper towels (or a cheesecloth, if you have one) and put the strainer over a bowl.  You need to make sure that there is enough room for the whey to drain from the yogurt, so you don’t want the strainer to touch the bottom of the bowl.  Add the yogurt to the strainer and allow it to drain.  I usually do this overnight.  When it is finished, it is a thick, creamy “cheese” that is left.

I usually add honey and use it to dip fruit.  But you can do a lot of other things with it…

My first batch of yogurt with frozen fruit, honey, cinnamon  and granola.

Do you have a favorite yogurt cheese recipe?  Would you share?

Comments on: "Making Yogurt" (1)

  1. Sounds like a great recipe for yogurt lovers, unfortunately I’m not one.
    Blessings to you, Robin

    Like

Leave a Reply

