My journey to shoot for the moon.

It seems that this week I’ve been writing a lot about Parenting.  Much more than usual.   Normally, things at our house run fairly smoothy; that is, if you don’t look at the dirty dishes and laundry piling up.

Thursday afternoon I took Michael to see Po.  We ended up staying a lot longer than I expected, but that wasn’t a bad thing.  However, I didn’t want to start cooking dinner at 6 pm, so Michael and I picked up some dinner.  When I texted Chris to find out what he and David wanted, he told me that David wasn’t feeling well.  David’s stomach was upset.

David had Sprite for dinner.  For lunch he had a roast beef sandwich and spicy Cheetos.  But then he didn’t have anything until his Sprite.  Rarely does David feel bad enough that he doesn’t eat.  So, I knew that he must have felt bad.

Michael playing in the water.

After he finished his Sprite, he got into the bathtub.  I guess I should say that he got in after Michael, because Michael was filthy from being with the horses (and playing in the water).

At about 8:30 pm I was ready to head to bed.  I have been having difficulties falling asleep and got about 5 hours the night before.  David got into bed with me.  He wasn’t in Chris’ spot; he was in the middle of the bed.  He had his head on my shoulder.  Then he rolled over and fell asleep.  Not long after that, I fell asleep.

At almost 14, David is taller than I am.  He is not a little kid climbing into bed with Chris and I.  And even though we have a King sized bed, three in our bed is on too many.  Chris slept on the couch.

David was obviously uncomfortable all night.  He moaned and groaned in his sleep.  When he woke up, shortly after I did (I was awake, but not out of bed yet), he told me that he needed to see the doctor.

After our visit to the doctor, he took a nap (something David almost never does).  He, most likely, has a stomach bug, but I wanted to make sure that it wasn’t anything more serious.  His stomach was quite tender to the touch and he was complaining of feeling “tight” in his stomach/bowel area. Also, David is at that age where going to the doctor and talking about bowel movements is embarrassing, so I figured that he really felt bad.

Honestly, I didn’t sleep well with David in bed with me.  He isn’t my normal sleeping partner and I wasn’t used to him.  But, I am glad that he felt he could come in and stay the night.  Even at almost 14.  He said he just needed his mom and I am glad that I was able to be there for him.  I was close if he needed something and he held my hand for a bit (like when he was 2 and weaning).

David started feeling better Friday evening.  He had some soup and crackers.  He slept in his own bed.  Sometimes having mom close helps.  But, I’m honestly glad that David is back in his own bed.

Comments on: "Co-Sleeping: A Recent Occurence" (2)

  1. Whew! Tough stuff being a parent. My oldest will soon be fifty and still it goes on.
    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

    • It is tough, but the rewards are well worth it. And I know that he won’t still be sleeping in my bed when he goes off to college…right now he is stuck between no longer being a little boy and becoming a man…it must be a hard place to be.

      Like

Leave a Reply

