My journey to shoot for the moon.

One of the things that my parents and I wanted to do while the boys and I were in NC was to go to the beach.  My parents live in Wake Forest and the beach is about 2 1/2 hours away.

The boys and I arrived in NC late on Saturday night and I was leaving on Thursday morning.  We picked Tuesday to go to the beach.  We should have gone on Monday, the weather would have been better..

Mom decided that she needed to wear her hat while cutting watermelon and I couldn’t resist taking a picture (I love you, Mom!)

We left at about 8:30 am. I got shotgun.  Mom drove and the guys were in the backseat. They brought their books and read for most of the drive, well at least David and Michael did.  Dad claimed he was reading his book.  I said he was sleeping.  It became a challenge for me to catch him sleeping and take a picture so he couldn’t dispute it.  Of course I won the challenge.  And here’s the proof.

His book is even falling from his fingers.  All in all, the ride wasn’t bad.  It was quiet and somewhat relaxing (maybe except for Mom who was driving).  Of course, as we were driving we realized that the sun wasn’t out.  And it was raining a bit.  We were hopeful that the weather would clear as we got closer to the beach.

Mom took the boys (while I was paying the parking fee) for their first view of the ocean.  I was sorry that I missed it.  But I got to see them a few minutes later.

As you can see, it is overcast and the beach was virtually empty.  Where we parked we were far from facilities, so we got back into the car and went several blocks until we got to a pier.  We tried to decide what we were going to do; it wasn’t cold (but it wasn’t warm either!), but it was raining a bit.  We didn’t want to unload all the stuff from the car (the chairs, coolers, umbrella, sheets and towels, etc.).  But we did want to play for a bit.  So we did.  The boys and I headed to the beach and Mom and Dad stayed at the shelter.

After we played for a bit, we went back to the car to have lunch.  Then the boys and I headed out for a little bit longer.  I wanted the boys to really get to experience the ocean and the waves, although it was too rough to swim.  We had some fun and then it started really raining.

So we headed back to the car for the drive home.  It was a long day and I was sad that we didn’t get to enjoy the sun and the sand.  But it was well worth it.  The boys will never forget their first visit to the ocean, in the rain.

Leave a Reply

