My journey to shoot for the moon.

My Student: Dean

This young man impresses you with his willingness to help and his smiles. He is one of the hardest workers I have ever met and finished my class with a 120% because of all the Extra Credit work he did. I can’t count the number of times that he came to me and asked me if I had extra work for him to do. He was willing to help out by erasing my chalkboard, moving things and doing whatever else I needed him to do.

His smile is contagious and he smiles frequently.  He is even tempered and I have never seen him get upset.  His memory isn’t great; he has to repeat the steps to a multi-step project so that he will remember them.  But he works so hard that it isn’t noticeable to the average person.

I believe that he is going to go far and he has more to teach than I could ever teach him.  I am so very glad I had the chance to get to know him and can’t wait to see where he ends up.

Comments on: "My Student: Dean" (2)

  1. D.J. Lutz said:

    Of course I am biased due to the boy’s name but what a great inspiration the lad has become! Sometimes I think the rest of us have forgotten that work and diligence tempered with a positive attitude will take you far in life. We should never complain. Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

    • Thanks D.J. – he is an amazing young man and his story should be shared. However, I’ve edited what I shared on the advice of a teacher friend. Since we don’t have a contract for the 12-13 school year and the school board is expecting us to follow a handbook that I haven’t had time to read, it was suggested that I be careful. So, I’m putting away my posts on my students for another time. I’ll write more about teachers and our contract in the next week or so. . .

      Like

Leave a Reply

