My journey to shoot for the moon.

Radiation Day

As you have probably read by now, today didn’t go as we expected. It wasn’t a whole day at the hospital and Chris wasn’t sedated. Both of those things were good. I went into work and taught one class. Just before I was ready to leave, Chris called. He told me that he wasn’t having his radiation until 3 (it was 9:30) and he was headed home. So, I met him there.When Chris got home, he told me that the radiologists had to study the MRI and figure out how they were going to zap the tumors.  That is why it was going to take until 3 for them to be ready for him for radiation.  Since he had so much time between appointments, he decided that he didn’t need to be sedated.  This meant that he would drive himself and I would stay at home and wait for the boys to get home from school.

So, first I graded some papers.  My students are funny and they surprise me.  We did a stream of conscience writing activity (relating to our novel, Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie) and they had me laughing.  I’ll write more about this later, as it is worthy of its own post.  Then I took a nap.  Even though I went to bed early last night (8 pm), I didn’t sleep well.  I know that Chris was up at some point and I think that Michael came in to ask a question about when he needed to be up.  I am still adjusting to my funky schedule.  On Monday, Wed. and Friday I start teaching at 7:45 am.  I need to be at school by 7:15 which means I leave between 6:30-6:45 am.  And that means that I need to be up by 5:30.  Some mornings, if I have dinner to get in the crock pot or need to wash my hair, I am up at 5.  Monday and Friday I drive Michael to a friend’s house on my way into work.  Wednesday, I drive David to choir practice and then head off to work.  Mondays I teach 3 classes.  Wednesday and Friday, I teach 1 class.  Tuesday and Thursday, I don’t have to teach until 11:43.  However, I have planning from 8:45-10:26 then a half hour of non-contact time and then lunch at 11.  So, I need to leave by 8:15.  I still get up early, usually around 6, to see David off to the bus (at 7) and then get Michael up before I leave (by 7:45).  Michael gets picked up here around 8:50.  On Tuesday and Thursday, I teach 2 classes.  Most days after school, I drive and pick up Michael and his friend, take the friend home and then head home.  I leave school by 3:30 on days I teach until 3, and have been subbing a lot of days or trying to get stuff accomplished and those days I try to leave a little bit earlier.  Michael needs to be picked up at 4.  We get home around 4:30.

I am usually tired when I get home.  And that means that stuff doesn’t get done.  Which means weekends are catch-up time – not time to relax.  Which results in me being exhausted before school even starts for the week.  So, I took a nap.  I got up around 1:30 and ran the dishwasher,  wrote a bit and relaxed.  Chris left for the hospital at 2:30.  I spoke to my mom while he was gone.  Then I changed my clothes, moved the laundry along, emptied the dishwasher and got the kitchen floor washed.  It isn’t perfect, I didn’t get down and scrub it, but it is clean and that is good enough.

I have a basket of laundry to fold and dinner to take care of.  Tonight is Michael’s night to take care of the dishes.  David did it last night.  I still haven’t found the scrapbook table, but things are looking better around here.  The sink is empty, the laundry is under control and I am not feeling quite so overwhelmed.  I know that if I take 10-15 minutes a day, I can keep things up.  But only if everyone is helping.  Of course, next week the schedule is really mixed-up AND I have conferences in the evening and will be putting in at 12 hour day.  But for now, things are manageable.

Comments on: "Radiation Day" (1)

  1. Whew! Many times I feel tired just reading your schedule, Robin. My thoughts are with you in the tremendous struggle you face each day.

    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

Leave a Reply

