My journey to shoot for the moon.

Books for Young Adults

Since I am teaching High School English, I have been reading a TON of Young Adult Literature in addition to my regular reading.  When the boys were really little we used to go to the library every week for story time.  Parents needed to stay at the library, but we were allowed to be out of the room that the kids were in.  Since the Zion-Benton Public Library had the children’s section as its own separate area, and I didn’t want to go far from the boys, I picked up a lot of Young Adult Literature to read.  Generally, they were quick reads and I did enjoy them.  So, while I am a bit behind in my Young Adult Literature “experience” I do have some background knowledge.  A number of books have come out since I stopped reading YA, but a number of books are still around.  Some of these books I’m reading with students and some I’ve picked up and am reading just because.

I am going to start a page (you can find them listed at the top of my blog) with summaries about some of the books I’ve encountered.  As I write the summaries, I will post them like a regular blog and then link them to the page so you will be able to read them in both places.

Here’s what you can look forward to –

The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

Sleeping Freshmen Never Lie by David Lubar

Crash by Jerry Spinelli

Define Normal by Julie Anne Peters

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

That Was Then, This is Now by S.E. Hinton

I would love to hear about your favorite Young Adult Literature, so please comment and let me know what books you’ve loved (or hated).

Comments on: "Books for Young Adults" (6)

  1. I hear wonderful things about S.E. Hinton and I’ve missed a few of these along the way so I will be sure to read them. I aspire to be a high school English teacher, but I got my degree in creative writing and so now I’m pursuing my license. I love reading young adult books so thank you.

    Like

  2. If you haven’t done so already, you need to befriend the media specialst at your school. He/she can get you the YALSA lists from the American Library Association. Good idea to befriend this person anyway. We are trained to respond when help is requested. I can still remember recommending The Incredible Journey to a teacher of reluctant readers when I was at the high school. THE WHOLE CLASS came into the library to thank me and he was my friend until the day I left Minnesota.

    Like

    • Hi Heidi –

      Yes, I met her. Even before I “officially” started. She is an amazing resource and she is a genuinely wonderful person. I brought one of my classes down to have a “tour” of the library. She spoke with the kids and was able to point them in the direction of their interests AND had read a number of books that they might be interested in. One of my students asked her, “So, have you read all the books in the library?” Then she was amazed at the response (A large number of them – most of the fiction, not all of the non-fiction.) I want to have the kids regain their interest in reading (school has ruined it) and the library is a great place for them to explore different genre. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that I’m offering extra credit for reading books and writing a summary. Honestly, I don’t care what the kids read. I just want them reading!

      Like

      • Exactly. I used to direct the worst non-readers to things like Popular Mechanics and Motor’s Auto Repair Manual. The kids at my hs had to spend at least an hour a week in the library, so we had to be loaded for bear or expect trouble. I even convinced the head librarian that we needed more material for kids with reading/interest problems.

        Like

      • I’ve offered extra credit for summaries of any reading – books, magazines, comic books, etc. I told the kids I didn’t care what they were reading (as long as it was school appropriate) but if it had words it was reading.

        Like

Leave a Reply

