My journey to shoot for the moon.

If you’ll remember, I wrote about the Secret Santas who were paying down layaway orders at Kmart. And i challenged you to see what would happen if you performed Random Acts of Kindness.  Here is my list of the Random Acts of Kindness that I can remember performing in December.Michael loves to participate in Random Acts of Kindness.  He has a generous heart.  It is so much fun to involve him because he just glows afterwards.

Before Christmas the boys and I were at Subway.  We used a coupon to buy one, get one.  There were 6 coupons in the paper for the buy one, get one.  Six is more than we will use before they expire.  So, Michael an I watched as people came in.  People who were by themselves, we figured, wouldn’t necessarily be able to use the coupon.  So, we waited.  A mother came in with two pre-teens.  She would be the perfect one because she would probably be buying 3 meals.  So Michael went up to her and gave her the coupon.  She was so surprised (you could tell by the look on her face).  And she was very appreciative.  Michael was thrilled.  He talked about Random Acts of Kindness on and off for the rest of the day.

A week or two before this I was approached by a woman at the grocery store.  She was interested in my coupon binder.  She had a ton of questions.  I explained my process (everyone does it a bit differently) and told her about a couple of websites I like to use.  She thanked me and continued shopping.  A few minutes later she was back.  She was thinking about the binder and couponing and wondered if I would be able to meet with her and let her copy my categories, etc. from my binder.  She asked for my phone number.  I thought it was a bit strange.  But my mother met her good friend, Heidi, at the grocery store several years ago.   So, I thought what the heck and gave her my number.

She texted me later in the day and we arranged to meet the following week.  Unfortunately, that was the week that I fell and I completely forgot about our plans.  She texted to ask if we were still on and I told her that I couldn’t meet with her and that I’d call and explain later.  A couple of days went by and I called her.  I told her what happened and apologized for forgetting about meeting her. Then I spent the next 45 minutes talking her through a binder and couponing sites, etc.  I doubt that I will ever hear from her again, which is why I consider it a Random Act of Kindness.

Michael and I, after my shopping trip to Kohl’s (see previous post), were given back our 20% off coupon.  The cashier said that it didn’t expire until the 3rd.  But, I did my big shopping trip and didn’t plan on going back.  I also knew that I could print one from the internet, were I to need one.  So, we looked for people to gift with the coupon.  Most of the people in line had coupons.  So, we gave up and headed out to the parking lot.  On the way out, there was a group of four women of differing ages.  I asked them if they had a Kohl’s coupon.  They didn’t.  So, I gave them the coupon.  They were quite excited.  It was a coupon for 15% off any purchase (including sale prices) or 20% a purchase of $100 or more.

These little Acts of Random Kindness didn’t cost me anything except for a little bit of time.  They probably saved people money.  Saving money is a good thing.

Leave a Reply

