My journey to shoot for the moon.

Shopping with Michael

The Tuesday following Christmas, Michael wanted to go shopping.  He had gift cards and some money and he wanted to purchase something specific.  I had planned to go to Kohl’s to buy some new clothes for work with a gift card from my mom and dad (THANKS!) and money from my in-laws (THANKS!).  Kohl’s was having a huge 3 day sale following Christmas AND they had a coupon for 20% off if you spent $100 or more.  Kohl’s has some great clothes.  I think that they are well-made and fit me nicely.  However, they are expensive (compared to my usual Walmart or Target Clearance clothes), so I don’t shop there frequently.  I had asked my mom for a gift card for Kohl’s so I could specifically buy clothes for work.

I told Michael that I would be happy to take him shopping, but that he would have to go with me to Kohl’s because it was in the same area and I wasn’t going to go back and forth.  He agreed.  First, we went to Walmart.  It was where he wanted to go first and I needed some things there too.  But they didn’t have Michael’s game and they didn’t have file folder labels.  So we got water, dog food, chips and file folders.  I was afraid that anything cold would be bad by the time we got home, so I’ll have to get groceries in the next couple of days.

From Walmart, we went to Best Buy.  Surprisingly, the parking lot wasn’t very full.  Michael found his game, looked at some music and then we left.  Staples is next door and since I needed file folder labels we went there next.  I found them and I got a refill for my planner.

Kohl’s was next on our list.  Michael wasn’t thrilled about it, but he was actually a help.  I found some great things and Michael kept track of my spending.  He also gave me his opinion and helped me find things in specific colors.  Generally, my pants are black or gray and my tops are more colorful.  I was somewhat picky about tops because my classroom tends to be warm (except for when it isn’t – but layers are best since I run warm).  I ended up with 13 items (4 bottoms and 9 tops).  One pair of pants doesn’t fit and one top doesn’t fit.  So, I’ll have to brave returns at some point.  But here is what I got.

Item

Regular Price

Sale Price

Woven Top

40.00

8.00

Long Skirt

44.00

21.99

Turtleneck Top

20.00

4.00

Dress Pants

44.00

13.20

Tie Front Sweater

64.00

25.60

Dress Pants

44.00

13.20

Skirt

40.00

14.00

Blouse

40.00

24.00

Short Sleeved Sweater

44.00

8.80

Blouse

40.00

8.00

Blouse

40.00

12.00

Empire Waist Sweater

50.00

20.00

¾ Sleeve Henley Sweater

36.00

13.99

    Subtotal                   186.78

Coupon -20%               -37.36

13 Items

$536.00

                                $149.42

I offered to buy Michael some lunch, but he wasn’t hungry. So we decided that I would pick-up dinner.  In all, it was a very nice shopping trip.  I just wish that my foot was better.  I still couldn’t fit it in a shoe and it really slows me down.

Comments on: "Shopping with Michael" (1)

  1. Good job on getting those bargains at Kohl’s. You’ll be steppin’ light when you enter the classroom now.

    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

Leave a Reply

