My journey to shoot for the moon.

First Day Jitters

It is 4:00 pm Monday night.  I was able to get into my classroom this morning.  Michael came with me.  We got my posters up and all my stuff unloaded.  I couldn’t get into the copy room, so that will have to wait for tomorrow morning.  I still have a box full of stuff to find a place for, but am pretty much ready for the first day back.

Right now I have a loaf of Chocolate Banana Bread in the bread machine and Steel Cut Oats (waiting for liquid) in the crock ready to be plugged in when I go to bed.  The coffee is on delay brew.  Minestrone Macaroni Salad is packed for lunch – I’ll make my Turkey Wrap in the morning.  I’ll be getting dinner for Tuesday out of the freezer shortly – and cooking dinner for tonight.

I haven’t figured out what I’m going to wear.  Most of my pants were made to be worn with heals.  My foot isn’t going to tolerate heals.  It may not even tolerate a shoe.  So, I’ll have to figure all of that out after dinner.  And I’ll need to fold laundry, take a shower and wash my hair.  That’s it.

I’ll be leaving here around 6:45 .  It is an Odd Day (Huskie Hour – to help students who are struggling, but I am only required to be there if I make an appointment with a student – 3rd period plan, hopefully subbing – 5th period, English Strategies II – 7th period, Reading/Writing Strategies) so I’ll be teaching 2 classes.  My whole plan for the day is to go over expectations, class rules, grading, etc., show the kids my All About Me Projects and talk about what they will be expected to do for theirs.  They will also have time to get going on their projects, I think.  Although, I have to check my email as I remember something about Vision and Hearing Screening during 5th period either tomorrow or Thursday.

Wednesday I only teach 2nd period and the plan is the same as for 5th and 7th, at least for the next week or so.  The kids will work Thursday (another Odd Day) and Friday (Even Day) on the projects.  They will also have Monday (Purple Day – so we have periods 2-8 but only for 50 minutes instead of the 1.5 hours on Odd and Even days).  I hope that they will be ready to present them to the class for the second half of class on Tues/Wed.  Then for Thurs/Friday we’ll do a writing assessment.

The following week is a short one – No School on Monday and Professional Development on Friday.  That week I hope to get going into our Novels/Short Stories – depending on the class.  I’m only slightly prepared for this part, but I still have some time.

But tonight, I’m nervous.  I know that it will be fine once I get into the classroom, but until I have kids tomorrow (at 11:40, I think) I’m going to be dealing with the jitters.  I want to throw-up because of my performance anxiety.  It is finally MY class.  I AM THE TEACHER.  I’m excited and scared all at once, kind of riding a roller coaster; you know that you are going to hate the drop, but that it is also fun.

Oh, and my chalkholder is defective, so that sucks.

Comments on: "First Day Jitters" (3)

  1. You are gonna do fine : } I know it . I hope in all the whirl you get a chance to say , Hey , I have accomplished so much , I am proud of me : }’s Take care of that foot , and have a Great Day : }

    Like

  2. Oooh no, defective chalkholder … added anxiety. However class goes, at the end of the day you can go to the mirror and like this woman, wife, mother and teacher. She may not be perfect, but you know she…

    My prayers for your suffering, hope the pain ends soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

