My journey to shoot for the moon.

Yesterday

It was an amazing day!

First of all, the news I was waiting for came. On Friday I interviewed for a position at Douglas County High School in Castle Rock, Colorado. The position will begin on Jan. 3 and run until the end of the school year. It is a .6 position (1.0 is full-time) teaching SPED Language Arts. It would entail teaching 3 classes (2 of the classes will use the same lesson plans). It is a great group of kids, I met them when I subbed there.

The Assistant Principal called and offered me the position. I am SO excited! High School is not where I thought I would end up teaching, but I LOVE the kids and the school. And I get to teach Language Arts and be involved with the SPED kids. It is the best of everything as far as I’m concerned.

One of my new co-workers took me out for a drink to celebrate (thanks MR) and I already feel as if I a part of the team. I’ll be subbing there again before I start my job, and I will be filling in as a sub whenever I can once my position starts.

The second amazing thing was that David auditioned for the Missoula Children’s Theater production of Jungle Book. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Missoula Children’s Theater, they are traveling directors and hold auditions, rehearsals and have 2 performances within a week. Kids ages 5-high school seniors are cast for the production. Monday is audition night and then some kids rehearse following auditions. Then the kids rehearse from 4-6 and 6:30-8:30 Tues. through Friday (depending on their parts – the younger kids will rehearse only from 4-6). On Saturday the kids arrive at the theater at 10 am and then have performances at 2 and 5. The productions are wonderful and David has participated since we moved to Parker, Colorado 4 years ago.

Tonight David was cast in the lead. It is the first lead he has ever gotten and I am so proud of him! He has a solo song. He has a ton of lines and as Mowgli will be on stage a great deal. He is excited and also trying to figure out how he is going to balance all of his responsibilities from school. What a life lesson!

What a day! It is amazing to be feeling this way – on top of the world. It has been so long since I’ve felt excited about something and hopeful. Hopeful that things are finally looking up, in some areas.

Comments on: "Yesterday" (8)

  1. Thrilled to hear you got the position you wanted Robin. Blessings!

    Like

  2. Heidi Ross said:

    My prayers for you have finally been answered, and how!

    Like

  3. Laura Lewis said:

    I certainly hope you believe in karma! Great things are happening to you and David!! CONGRATS!!

    Like

Leave a comment