My journey to shoot for the moon.

This day, I walked into the school and found out that there were approximately 50 unfilled substitute positions in the district for that day.  I was scheduled to substitute for the Moderate Needs SPED teacher, but since there were 6 unfilled positions at the school, I volunteered to take a classroom.

I ended up subbing in a 5th grade self-contained Gifted and Talented classroom.  The secretary actually gave me a hug when I said that I didn’t mind taking a GT class and that I had experience with GT kids.  Michael is in the same program, just at a different school.

The best part about subbing in this classroom (besides the kids) was that this classroom had a Student Teacher.  Many Student Teachers are inexperienced in the classroom, and at the end of September, still would not have full control over the classroom.  However, this teacher was an experienced teacher, having taught English in Japan (elementary and middle school, if I remember correctly) for three years.

There were no sub plans, the Student Teacher knew what was planned for the day.  I didn’t have much to do, mostly help with classroom management, and it was a quiet day.  We had some free-time during the day, and I had come prepared.  In my bag I had a box of Brain Teaser cards that I had picked up in the Dollar Section at Target.  I had gotten several boxes and I knew that these were good for GT kids, as the boys were stumping each other during our trip to Colorado Springs (Manitou Cliff Dwellings and the Cheyenne Mountain Zoo – see previous posts).  So I pulled these out and asked the kids some of the questions.  Some were too easy, but many of them required the kids to think “outside the box” to come up with the answers.  They needed to change their perspectives and were having trouble figuring out the answers.  But they were having fun, and I think the learned something.

The kids were great, the Student Teacher was great, the kids learned something and it was a good day, even if it wasn’t what I expected.

Picture from the parking lot of the school.

Leave a Reply

