My journey to shoot for the moon.

Day 6

This day I stepped out of my comfort zone and substituted for the Speech and Language Pathologist at Michael’s school.  It was a half day job and worked with my schedule.  And it was nearby.

What I learned was that I should sub for Speech anytime it comes up.  I had about 20 minutes to go over the plans, which were very detailed.  The Speech Teacher had pulled all the materials and left great plans.  There was one thing I couldn’t find, and I was able to improvise.  Michael showed me to the 2 classrooms from which I would have to pull kids, and he went off to his own class.

My first student was late arriving to school, so instead of working with her for 30 minutes, I only had her for 20.  She was a kiddo with Severe/Profound learning needs, but she worked hard and was cooperative.

My second student was absent.

My third student worked on some fall vocabulary, discussed a picture with me and then I read her a story and had her predict what she thought would happen next.  She was a very sweet girl and I really enjoyed working with her.

My fourth student had earned a reward and we got to play a game for 30 minutes.  She picked Sorry and we played twice.

Then I had two students at the same time.  They were working on a crossword puzzle and having difficulties coming up with the words.  I got to draw pictures on the white board.  Then we worked on past tense verbs.

That was it.  Half a day and 5 students. It was relaxed and it was nice.  I will happily sub for Speech again.

Day 7

I hadn’t planned on working on this day, but there was a job that was too good to pass up.  It was for 2nd grade and it was a 20 minute drive.  I was to sub from 1:00 pm to 3:30 pm and I would get paid at the 1/2 day rate (4 hours or less).

I had a great time with the 2nd graders.  They came back from computers, had recess, then had snack and read aloud, and then I taught Social Studies.  We talked about the American Flag and symbols of their community.  Then they drew flags for their community.  After that we discussed what Colorado looked like before there was any development and what it looks like now that it is developed.  They drew pictures.  Then it was time for them to pack up and go home.

Another great afternoon.  I’m having a great time subbing!

Leave a Reply

