My journey to shoot for the moon.

The Exorcism of Herman

If you have been following my blog, you will be familiar with Herman.  Herman is our car ghost.  You can read about Herman in some of my previous posts.

Herman has been acting up lately.  He has been keeping the lights on in the van and not wanting to turn them off.  Honestly, I could care less if the lights are on, but as it drains the battery, it is a problem.  One night I came home and was outside for a good 45 minutes trying to get the lights off in the car.  Herman just wouldn’t cooperate.  Another night we were at the Colorado Rapids game and the lights wouldn’t turn off.  Eventually we left the van and I worried about the van starting the whole night.

The mechanic told me that they couldn’t find the source of the problem beyond it was the driver’s side doors.  They couldn’t fix it and we would have to take the van to the dealership.  The closest dealership is about 20 minutes away.  It is just far enough to be a pain.  I finally decided that it wasn’t worth the aggravation and took the car.

When I arrived at the dealership, I told the service “guy” (Lonnie Fast at Groove Ford in Centennial, CO) that I needed to have them find the cheapest fix for the car as possible.  I let him know that I was unemployed and about Chris’ cancer.  So, he tried to clean and tighten the connections for the sensors in the doors.  He thought he had fixed the problem and was not going to charge me.

He told me to give him a call if Herman reappeared and he’d order the switches for the sensors and that it should cost no more than $200.  I thanked him and drove off.  On the way home Herman decided that he was going to make an appearance.  And he continued to appear.  I called Lonnie and let him know.  I told him that I wanted to bring the van back in on Friday (it was Monday), since there wasn’t school and there would be no opportunities for me to sub.  He told me that he would have the part by then.

On Friday first thing in the morning, I took the van back in.  Lonnie saw me drive up and came out to meet me.  It was just after 8:00 am.  He drove the van around for a while after having the new switches installed and couldn’t get the lights to come on or Herman to appear.  It cost me $140 with parts and labor and it was ready by 9:15 am.

I’ve driven the van into Denver and around town since then and have had no problems.  Herman seems to be exorcised.  And the amazing thing is that I can now lock the van doors without the alarm going off at random times.

So, in honor of Herman’s exorcism, I have written this blog – and thank you to Lonnie!

Comments on: "The Exorcism of Herman" (2)

  1. One thing we all know for sure; a good mechanic is worth his weight in gold … uh, so long as he doesn’t have to deal with Herman.

    Like

Leave a Reply

