My journey to shoot for the moon.

Snow?!?

Yesterday morning, I woke up early. The boys had support group for kids who have a parent with cancer. It is a good 30 minute drive from here and it starts at 9 am one Saturday a month (from Oct. to June).

The first thing that I do in the morning (after using the bathroom) is take the dogs out if they have to go. If the boys are up, I have them do it, unless it is a school day. I don’t think that they should have to get up earlier to take the dogs on school days. Why? I’m not quite sure, but I feel that way, so I take the dogs.

Anyway, both boys were sleeping, so I took the dogs. Kirby and I headed out the door, and to my surprise, it was SNOWING. Yes, snowing on October 8th. It was a very wet snow, but it didn’t seem that cold. That is one of the crazy things about Colorado, it can snow and not feel cold.

Friday night/Saturday morning I woke up around 2 am. I was very warm and couldn’t sleep. It was very windy during the day and we had closed the window most of the way. I went out to the couch and opened the sliding door. It was raining. A nice steady nighttime rain. So, I was very surprised when I went outside at 6:30 am to find that it was snowing.

The boys and I left early for their support group. We had to clean off the car – although we were wearing sweatshirts – and it was still snowing. As we drove into Denver, the snow turned to rain. This is another crazy thing about Colorado: the weather can be vastly different 5-10 miles away. I don’t know if this is because some of the area is part of the foothills, or if it is a mountain effect, but it is very strange. In Illinois, usually the weather was the same in Zion, Waukegan, Beach Park and Gurnee. Not much difference if you drove from one to the other. Here, that isn’t the case. Castle Rock can get a foot of snow and Parker can have only a couple of inches. In fact, the school district announces school closings by “feeder.” This means that they let us know according to which High School the Elementary and Middle Schools feed into. Just because schools are closed for one feeder, doesn’t mean that the weather is bad enough to close all of the schools in the district. Of course, it is a big district and it covers a very large area.

When we got back to Parker, there was still snow on many roofs, but it was raining. It continued to rain much of the day.

When I got up this morning, it was cool and wet, but no longer raining. It is overcast, but because this is Colorado, I expect to see the sun for at least a little bit today (there are very few days here where we don’t have any sun). Today is what I would expect for a fall day.

Although, it will be back up in the high 70’s later this week. And a few days ago, I was wearing shorts and sandals.

In Colorado you can never be sure. Two years ago there was a snowstorm on Halloween. Bad enough to close the schools and if I remember correctly, they were closed for 2 days. Snow, in October? I guess it isn’t that strange after all.

Comments on: "Snow?!?" (2)

  1. Hi Robin,
    I’m still wondering about the ads that have recently shown up at the end of your blogs. ????

    Like

Leave a Reply

