My journey to shoot for the moon.

BLOG WRITING

I would imagine that I write my blog quite differently than most people.  My blog writing is somewhat unorganized (like my thought process).

First, I have my blank blog forms with only titles.  These are things that I want to write about and a key phrase that will help me remember it when I get around to writing.  Right now I have 9 titles waiting for me in my draft folder.  A couple have been there since I started writing my blog.  The most recent one was from today.  At some point I’ll get around to writing about these topics, but until then, I want to remember what they are.

Next, I have my actual drafts or works in progress.  Right now, including this blog that I’m working on, I have 5 drafts in my folder.  These are postings that I’ve started and not finished because I’ve not had time or want to ponder.  Sometimes the subject matter is something that is more difficult to write about and will take me a few days, other times I  had a great idea that had to be written NOW, so I put the original writing away and come back to it.  Postings like my Musings are written over the course of several days, as I have ideas and get posted when I seem to have a decent amount.  Generally, I finish these within a few days of starting them.  Sometimes, they are still drafts because they need pictures and I haven’t gotten around to adding them.  To make it as WordPress’ Freshly Pressed and be a Featured Blog, you need pictures.  That is one of my goals for my blog, so, you will see some of my first blogs don’t have pictures, while later ones do.  Also, if you read something when I first posted it, it could have been picture-free and I added them later.

The final items in my folder are the ones that are complete and ready to be published.  They are all ready to go and I am just waiting to post them.  Currently there is 1 item in this folder waiting for me to post it.  However, since I’ve been jokingly accused of “over-blogging” I’ve cut myself back to one post a day – plus either a Job Search Update or an update on Chris’ cancer.  So, if I finish writing an entry for my blog, but have already posted one, I save it and post it a different day.

There is no special or right way to blog.  It is what works best for you.  This is working for me, for now and when it stops working, I will change it so that it will work.  I only wish that I had a computer blackboard, so I could write all my ideas down in one place and erase and cross out and change as I needed.

https://i2.wp.com/education-clipart.com/education_clip_art_2.jpgREADING

While writing this post, I realized that I blog like I read – I have books waiting to be read, several books that I have started reading and am working on finishing, and books that I have finished.  Yes, I read several books at a time.  I might be reading a professional development book (like Waiting for Superman), a purely fun book (like a romance novel), a book for personal enlightenment (like Zen and the Art of Motorcycle maintenance), a book to discuss with the boys (like The Case for God) and a self-help book (like 7 Habits for Highly Effective Families).  When I find a book that I’m enjoying, I will often read it until I complete it without picking up another book.  But a difficult book, like The Case for God, I will read over the course of several months and re-read sections as I need to for comprehension.  I am an avid reader and probably read over 52 books (more than 1 per week) in a year.

From the list above, I am certain that you can tell that I read books from many different genre.  I LOVE historical fiction and can devour a book based on history in a day or two.  I also enjoy SciFi/Fantasy books of many different types.  I read some classical literature, as I have discovered that somehow I missed reading some very good classic novels.  Can you believe that I never read The Three Musketeers?  And I was even an English Major in college!  Trashy novels or romance books are fun reads for me and usually only take a couple of hours for me to finish.  They are generally harmless and waste time.  Because of my hearing difficulties, I sometimes prefer the “mindlessness” of a trashy novel, over mindless TV.  Professional development books are slower reading, but I usually have one or more that I am working through – research and understanding change so much that it is difficult to keep up.  Self-Help books help me to come up with new ideas and new ways of doing things.  I guess under self-help would be parenting books.  I have read some excellent books that are on parenting in the last decade.

Books are a staple of life for me.  Chris and David have Kindles, but I prefer a book.  There is something about holding a book and turning the pages that I really enjoy.  Michael feels the same way and would rather wait to have a solid book in his hands.  I’ve taken classes where the textbooks were online, and I didn’t like that much.  I want to underline and write comments in the margins.  I like having a solid book to take with me rather than a device.  That isn’t to say that I won’t read a book on the Kindle, sometimes I just don’t want to wait to order a book.

When my parents moved from Illinois to North Carolina they took only a small portion of their book collection.  I took a large number of books from them and I donated at least 500.  The books I took traveled to Colorado with me and the boys are reading some of them.  Their closet is full of books, we have boxes of books in storage, and those don’t include the books I’ve saved for when I start teaching.  I’ve found that if I get a book for a quarter at the library or 50¢ at Goodwill or Salvation Army, I don’t mind if it takes me 2-3 hours to read.  If I am buying a book full-price, I want it to be a BIG book and be a series.

I also like leaving books (and magazines).  My favorite place to leave a book or magazine is at the oncology clinic at University of Colorado Hospital.  I have a bag with magazines that I take with me when I go, usually I am too anxious to read anything significant, but a trashy novel or short stories work.  I haven’t been to the clinic with Chris since I started blogging.  I usually go with him for visits after he has a scan (the other visits are just medication checks and we don’t find out anything new), but the last scan visit he had was when I was contagious with pneumonia.  So, I stayed home.

Reading is a passion of mine.  I have taken a number of classes for instructing struggling readers.  Kids who don’t want to read, seem to have difficulties reading that cause the avoidance.  And difficulties reading mean that they will have difficulties writing.  That is part of why I wanted to be a teacher; I can’t imagine that kids would not want to read.  Those who have difficulties reading, should like to be read to or to listen to books.  There is so much you miss when you don’t read.  Of course, I am speaking to the wrong crowd, if you are reading this blog, then you are probably a reader.

Leave a Reply

