My journey to shoot for the moon.

I’ve had a couple of people tell me that my blog is funny.  For those of you who know me, you know that I am not usually funny in person.  My sense of humor seems to be different from most of the people I meet.  First of all, I don’t like “stupid” humor.  For example, The Three Stooges were never funny to me.  Neither is Tom and Jerry.  Although most of the world laughs at their antics,  I don’t think it is funny.  Second, https://i0.wp.com/toeas.com/emoticon/files/2011/07/laughing-emoticon-2.jpgcomedy usually isn’t funny to me.  I can see what is going to happen and I just don’t find it funny.  Most people think that it is funny that “everything that can, will go wrong.”  I just don’t.  Maybe because I have already thought through all the things that can go wrong.  Lastly, it takes a lot to make me laugh.  I treasure people who can make me laugh.  I love watching toddlers and puppies because of their antics.  They make me laugh.  I laugh at myself all the time (see my post on my hearing loss).  I don’t like to laugh at other people unless I can tell that they are laughing with me.  Maybe it is because I felt laughed at a lot as a kid:  believed I was the butt of the jokes.  My sense of humor is uncommon (I don’t know anyone else who has a similar sense of humor).  Can’t tell you why and can’t explain it, it is just the way it is.

So, being told that my blog is funny, is perplexing to me.  https://i2.wp.com/www.imageenvision.com/150/35485-clip-art-graphic-of-an-orange-guy-character-holding-a-curvy-question-mark-by-jester-arts.jpgI can see where some things I write about are funny or amusing, but I don’t think of myself as being funny.  Having people enjoy the humor in my blog is something that I don’t totally get because while I do try to write in an engaging, interesting manner, I am not always certain that I am successful.  And, today, as I write this, I think of someone who has social skills deficits – they don’t always understand why people find something funny and how that could describe me.  I’d like to think that I don’t have social skill deficits (Social anxiety?  Absolutely), but maybe I do.  I guess you would have to tell me.

In effect, I tend to be funnier if I’m not paying any attention to being funny.  This is difficult to do, as I want people to read my blog and enjoy it.  Often what I think is funny falls flat and what someone else finds to be funny, doesn’t seem funny to me.  I guess that the glimpses into my thought processes are funny – my brain tends to work on overdrive and there is nothing I can do to stop it.  Sometimes it is working so hard and so fast that I don’t even process what I am thinking and I think that tends to be what people find funny.  When I process, my Type A, personality takes over and I edit.  When I edit, some of the humor disappears because I question if it is funny and usually decide it isn’t and take it out.

I’ve also been told by a few people that I should write a book.  I’m not really sure how that would work out.  I have a hard time staying focused on a topic.  Well, only sometimes, when I write my blog, https://landamongthestars.files.wordpress.com/2011/08/writing450.jpg?w=300I can stay on a topic for the entire post, but to do it on a much larger scale?  I’m not really sure that it would be successful.  Besides what would I write about?  Advice about writing says that you should write about what you know – and I have good material for short essays about my life but to have enough original material to make a book. . . that is something to ponder, and ponder.  Would my brain behave and allow me to write and stay on topic for an entire book?  Could I develop believable characters?  That isn’t the type of writing that I’ve been doing.  So, I’m not really sure about it.  My brain tends to bounce around a lot and I think it would be difficult for me to write a book without being totally distracted by other thoughts.  In an other post, I’ll explain about how I blog.  I am not certain, but I think that it is unique to me – but other bloggers will have to tell me.

https://i0.wp.com/cms.envirasoft.com/images/content/abstract_purple_design_free_vector.jpegHere is an unedited example of my brain at work – I’m typing this blog and thinking about what I type.  There is a knock at the door.  I answer the door and tell Michael’s friends that he has a soccer game and that we are leaving in a few minutes.  Then I think that I have a headache so I should take something.  I go into the kitchen to get some acetaminophen and see the Benadryl box sitting out on the counter.  I remember that I got bit by something this morning when I was taking the dogs out and that I took one.  Then I wonder if that is why I was suddenly so tired I couldn’t keep my eyes open.  Decide that it probably was since I took it and then was sleepy less than 30 minutes later.  Put the meds back in the cabinet and see the gum in the cabinet.  Think that I would like some.  So I take it out.  Then I think that it would be a good thing to write about – my brain and how it works.  https://i0.wp.com/www.answer-my-health-question.info/images/improve-brain-health-2.jpgGo back to typing on the computer.  Call David to take Sugar out.  Tell boys we are leaving in 2 minutes.  See the gum sitting on the counter and realized that I didn’t get any.  Tell Michael to take Kirby.  Time to go, so I need to plug-in the computer, get my purse and camera and get some gum.  Need to slip on shoes and grab sunglasses and save this draft to come back to it later.  Head out the door with the boys.  Thinking the entire way to soccer how the title I picked for this blog isn’t going to work and I need to change it.  Then I think of other things I can blog about and that I should try to remember them for when I get home (but of course I can’t remember any of them).

And this is my brain at work:  convoluted and going in tangents.  It is the reason that I have to blog to get my thoughts out before they cause my brain to explode.  And I find thoughts of my brain exploding, funny.

Comments on: "My Blog, My Humor and My Brain" (6)

  1. I am only funny when making fun of myself.

    You type on the fly much better than I do. It can take me forever to write even a little something.

    Like

    • Thanks for reading my blog.

      I have always loved to write. In college and high school, I wrote a lot of poetry and used it as a creative outlet – now I blog. And I type fairly quickly and don’t really have to think about what I’m doing.

      Like

  2. Darlene Blood said:

    I think you are funny in person sometimes Robin. I loved the way you interacted with kids in my classroom and made them smile.

    Like

    • Hi Darlene –

      Thank you for your complement. I think that I am often more of myself with kids, since I don’t feel the need to “win” their approval. I can be goofy (rather than funny) and they appreciate it.

      Like

  3. susan chesen said:

    HI Robin –

    You are a great mom and a great writer – how about writing about parenting the Robin way – let people know what works – what doesn’t work and how to develop mind and body of those little miracles you call David and Michael!

    Like

Leave a Reply

