My journey to shoot for the moon.

How I Found Coffee

I didn’t always like coffee.  I thought it tasted bitter.  I didn’t know why someone would want to drink a hot drink in the summer.  If I needed caffeine, I had a soda.  Life was simple.

Then David was born.  I worked part-time in the evenings starting when David was 2 months old.  And David didn’t sleep.  He would be up early in the morning and not want to take a nap until we got into the car around 3:45 pm for me to take him to Chris so I could go to work.  He would sleep until we went to move him to the other car, and then he would wake up.  Sometimes he would fall asleep again while Chris was driving him home.  His naps lasted 30 minutes to 1 hour at a time and even at 2 months he would be awake for 6-7 hours without sleeping at all.  At night he would sleep 2-3 hours, wake to nurse and sleep another 2-3 hours.  If I was lucky, we had 3 cycles during the night.  If not, then we had 2 or he slept less than 2 hours at a time.  I was so sleep deprived it was insane.

With the sleep deprivation, I tried a number of things that would help to keep me awake.  One thing was coffee.  I found that with sugar and creamer it wasn’t so bad.  Now Chris would tell you that what I drank wasn’t coffee.  I disagree.  It was made with coffee grounds and brewed in the coffee pot.  Cream and sugar are acceptable additions to coffee.  My coffee was light brown/tan and it helped me stay awake.

https://i0.wp.com/www.cksinfo.com/clipart/food/beveragesdrinks/coffee/coffe-mug2.pngWhat I didn’t know at the time was that drinking coffee quickly becomes a habit.  If I didn’t have my coffee, I missed it.  Badly.  Not only did I end up with a headache due to caffeine withdrawal, I was cranky.  Nothing would really fix it, but to drink hot coffee during the day (except when having a nice dessert) didn’t sit well with me.  I don’t know why, but it didn’t.  Although, you could get me a frappaucino or some other fru-fru drink (according to Chris) with whipped cream and I would be happy,  But Chris is right, that isn’t coffee.  It is similar to a truffle in a glass.  It is fun and tasty and something I would miss if I never had again, but can live without.  Coffee is, on the other hand, a necessity of life.  It is required for survival, just like air and water.  I don’t know what I would do without my coffee.  And my coffee contains cream and sugar, don’t forget!

Comments on: "How I Found Coffee" (1)

  1. […] in the afternoon, should I make coffee then?  But I don’t really care for hot coffee (see How I Found Coffee) in the afternoon, so should I make it iced?  Will it keep me up at night?  And how will I know […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

