My journey to shoot for the moon.

As someone who has started blogging, I feel the need to keep up with what is going on in the news.  Often I have been in a news-free zone.  When my boys were little I didn’t watch the news when they were around. It was upsetting to them and they understood way too much of what was going on.

Now I don’t watch the news regularly for a couple of reasons.  First, the news is often depressing.  I don’t need to hear about all of the bad things happening in the world.  My life is difficult and depressing enough.  Second, I appreciate the quiet.  It is nice not to have the TV on when I am by myself.  I don’t often get to sit in quiet.  Finally, I read the headlines on the internet.  If something catches my attention, then I read the article.  If it doesn’t, then I don’t bother.

But since I’ve started blogging, I have felt the need to keep up with what is going on in the world.  I’m not finding it any less depressing or any more informative.  The news stinks.  Wishing it were better isn’t making it so.  Being able to write about it doesn’t change it either.  On the other hand, I believe that one person can make a difference and if I don’t know what is going on in the world, how can I be that person?

Honestly, there hasn’t been much that has interested me in the news.  However, I came across an article about a family of six using coupons to save money.  That is old news.  I’ve been couponing for most of my adult life.  But there was a link to a site that has already proved to be valuable (http://www.bargainblessings.com/).  This site is for Colorado families, but I would think that it would work nationwide for Walgreens, Target, Walmart and other large chain stores.  And while I’m a self-proclaimed “expert” couponer, I found some deals that I’ve been missing.   There is also lots of information about beginning couponing.  I suggest you check it out.

While I’m at it, I figure it makes sense to put in a plug for the company that Chris works for – Shopathome.com.  They have a toolbar that allows you to see coupons and internet deals.  If you sign up at Shopathome.com and go through their website, you can earn cash back when making purchases on the internet.  If you refer friends, you can earn additional money.  If you sign up through this link, I will earn $5 cash back for each person.  But honestly, as there is no cost, it will save you money.  For example, I recently made a purchase at restaurant.com for some $25 certificates for $2.  The percentage back, if you go through Shopathome is 24%.  I spent $17 at restaurant.com last week and today had $4.08 deposited into my Shopathome account.  When my total reaches $20 Shopathome will send me a check (checks go out quarterly).

Here’s the link – http://www.shopathome.com/?IAFCG=UCP/tOZ2SCwMv0ilEoUf+g==   You will need to cut and paste it into your browser.

I am also going to set up a poll to see if you want to know more about couponing, once a month and batch cooking or frugal cooking.  Take a minute and let me know what you think.

And I’ll keep reading the news to see if there is anything interesting to write about.  But since many of the reports have to do with subjects mentioned in What Not to Blog About, I may have to just keep commenting about fluff pieces.

Leave a Reply

