My journey to shoot for the moon.

No Women Allowed

Historic El Paso Club Divided Over Admitting Women

This was the headline on the CBS Denver article that appeared in the local news section of My Yahoo last week.  If you click on the title, you can read the whole article.  It isn’t really an exciting article and it really shouldn’t be news at all.  It is amazing to me that there are still places in America where women aren’t allowed and then to have the membership divided on allowing them.  As a woman, I’m insulted.  The El Paso Club was supposed to be a place where the movers and shakers of the time met and discussed politics when it started 134 years ago.  But at this time women weren’t allowed.

The article states that this was the first time the club members voted on allowing women to become members.  Hello???  It is 2011 and the only place that I can think of that hasn’t had a woman in charge is the White House.  But I guess that depends upon your viewpoint and I can see some arguing with me.  So, I’ll put it this way – there hasn’t been a woman president in the good old U.S.A.  I don’t think that there will be any arguments there.  Other than that, women have essentially shattered the glass ceiling .

I wonder why it took so long.  The club first opened in 1877, but only decided to vote on accepting women as members in 2011.  Something is wrong with this picture.  Secondly, why are the members divided now?  And third, why would I want to join their club anyway?  Maybe because they don’t allow women and I feel that sometimes we need to push the envelope.  But seriously, what would a woman have to gain by joining?  Perhaps 100 years ago a woman might have been able to advance her career if she had been allowed in.  Today, I don’t think so.

Leave a Reply

