My journey to shoot for the moon.

6 Word Memoirs

Our school is working on improving writing scores on standardized tests.  I’ll be meeting with my Administrator to come up with a goal for my professional growth and student writing this week.  I did not get to purchase the writing program that I wanted to use with my students, but that is ok.  I did buy myself a book by Kelly Gallagher called Write Like This:  Teaching Real-World Writing Through Modeling and Mentor Texts.  I stayed up way too late Saturday night reading it!  Yes, it was that good. 

I’m only about 50 pages in, but I have decided that I am going to use the information from the book and work on teaching my students REAL-WORLD writing.  Basically, there are six purposes for writing:  express and reflect, inform and explain, evaluate and judge, inquire and explore, analyze and interpret and take a stand/propose a solution.  With these purposes in mind, you can write for a variety of audiences and to reach a number of outcomes.  Duh.  So, I begin.

I wrote out lesson plans using following the structure from the book – one of the first activities I will be doing with my students is working on writing 6 Word Memoirs.  I wrote a couple, the boys each wrote one and Chris “wrote” one with David’s editing.  They were fun to do and they didn’t take very long.  There is even a website devoted to 6 Word Memoirs.

Here is what we came up with -

David’s – I am really awesome every day.

Chris’ – My life is far too complicated. (for six words)

Michael’s – Why can’t this just be simple?

Mine -

Teaching high school challenges, pushes, sucks.

Wake up. Work.  Really love teaching.

Beautiful mountains in the morning, inspire.

Writing own blog ever so slowly.

I won’t be getting to this assignment with my students until later this week.  I do hope they have fun with it.  I know that I did!  See if you can write your own 6 Word Memoir and share it in the comment section.  I can’t wait to see what you come up with.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 174 other followers

